Weather vs. PATH

It was a terrible day! Heavy raining and winds like you’d never believe. I’m surprised i wasn’t blown away!

Thomas walked me to the PATH in the evening as he usually does because he is such a gentleman. When we got to the entrance of the PATH at Grove Street, a lady warned me the trains were not running. No trains were heading into Jersey City from NYC and none were heading into NYC from Jersey City. In fact, she added that there are people stuck in between stations. The lady also told me that she’s been standing here since 7:15pm. It was a little after 10pm when Thomas dropped me off. It turned out that there was an electrical problem. I wasn’t surprised when she explained what caused the problem. When Thomas and I were watching TV, the electricity in the apartment shut down but everything turned back on in a second.

I was a little nervous not knowing how to get back into the city. I know there were options but given the crazy winds, struggling to hold onto my bags, it was hard to concentrate. Luckily, I wasn’t the only one in the predicament. There were other people trying to head into the city. There were buses but that meant heading deeper into Jersey City to get back into Manhattan via another bus service. Another option was to take the light rail to Hoboken to catch the NY Transit train or another bus service into Manhattan. The other option was to take a cab.

I got back into NYC via cab especially when the fare was shared with two other people. The cab fare was $50 plus tolls. I figured parting with $20 plus was a small price to pay to get home. I just hope that NYC MTA was running better than the PATH, and it was.

Here is a link with a little more information about this incident.

~ by thedailycommuter on Sunday, March 9, 2008.

 
