When the pee hits the tracks…

This was not the first time I have witnessed what I am about to tell you.

I am heading home on the “E” train from WTC/Chambers Street.  I usually take a seat in the second car from the end but there was an Asian homeless man on it.  And although he did not appear filthy, he certainly smelt like shit.  So I got off and walked to the next car.  The third car from the end had a single homeless black man on it who was smoking because the car smelled of smoke.  I continued to walk to the next car in the hopes that there wasn’t a homeless person there.

Now, you may be wondering why I decided to hop from car to car via the station as opposed to through the cars.  Well, I’ll tell you.  Homeless people use the “between” cars to do their business.  What sort of business?  Peeing.  They pee between cars.  That’s right.  And that is why the last stop on the “E” train in Manhattan always smells of stale urine!  It’s because the homeless people who take up residence in the cars, use the between cars to piss and probably take a dump too.

In fact, I witnessed the homeless black man who was smoking in car #3 get in between cars and stood there for quite sometime doing his business.  When the conductor announced that they were about to depart, I watched the homeless man back up, turn, and motion to zip up his pants and returned to car #4.

I’ve witnessed this blatant toilet use before and in fact, have even seen it from the platform.

Ever since I was aware of this, I don’t walk between cars on the “E” train.

~ by thedailycommuter on Sunday, May 11, 2008.

4 Responses to “When the pee hits the tracks…”

  1. See, this is a major difference between NY and DC that I just don’t understand.

    We have many many problems down here, but I have NEVER seen anyone piss on the Metro, in the station, or on the tracks.

    It just doesn’t make sense, because southeastern DC is filled with poor, miserable, lawless individuals, most of whom have access to the Metro.

    Plenty of crime here. We used to be known as the murder capital in the 90s. Last year, some woman was raped on the Capital Mall, where the Smithsonian is located. I am not kidding.

    Still, we just don’t have the homeless problem on that exists on the NY subway. It’s really strange. That said, I did have this experience…..

  2. If you think peeing is bad, “SUBWAY BLOGGER” has witnessed worse than I have experience. If you haven’t already read this one, you have to read this.
    http://subwayblogger.com/2007/08/19/this-just-in-the-subway-smells-really-bad/

  3. That is the most digusting thing I’ve read in a while. Worse than the bed bugs.

  4. […] the Daily Commuter: I am heading home on the “E” train from WTC/Chambers Street. I usually take a seat in the […]

Leave a Reply

 
