Where are the men?

Where are the the men?  Today I was on the bus heading to the catch the train to go into the city.  I sat at the front where you are supposed to give up your seat to the elderly or disabled.  Two Indian men were sitting to my left and on the opposite side were women.  As we were nearing the final destination, a somewhat elderly man with a cane got on the bus.  None of the men offered their seats to him so I offered him mine.  He said it was okay and moved towards the rear.  Then a woman with her young child got on the bus.  I did not offer my seat, nor did the Indian men sitting to my left.  At the next stop, an elderly woman with a cane got on the bus.  I offered her my seat, which she did take.  Again, the Indian did not even make the slightest movement to offer their seats to her.  But then moments later, one of the Indian men offered his seat to the Indian woman with her young child.  And that’s only because he was getting off at the following stop!

Why are the men not offering their seats to the elderly or pregnant women?  I want to hear from you men who are these selfish jerks.

I am a firm believer that you can get a fat ass by sitting too much!  And from what I’ve seen, there are a lot of men with fat asses.

If you are a man who does not believe in giving up your seat to the elderly and pregnant women, I want to hear your selfish explanation.

And check out the Commuter Etiquette for more information about seating.

~ by thedailycommuter on Monday, May 26, 2008.

4 Responses to “Where are the men?”

  1. This is one of my biggest pet peeves on the subway. Men – better yet, young men – who refuse to give up their seats to older people and women. It’s so embarrassing.

    In New York, I once saw three gangbangers literally push an old lady out of the way to get to the remaining seat.

    What is going on in this country?!?!?!

  2. one time on the PATH train, this young guy with his luggage was blocking a seat from this elderly lady. he was seated and his luggage was in front of the empty seat next to him. I was baffled. he saw her too! I offered her my seat. I was just baffled.

  3. That’s the worst. When a guy doesn’t give up his seat to a senior citizen, so a girl nearby does. It’s really quite awful. Not to keep beating the same drum, but in this situation, the girl is more chivalrous than the guy.

    How can we expect to remain a world leader in science, industry, technology, business, etc. if our young men can’t master basic etiquette and social skills?

  4. It’s difficult to push the everyone is equal, you deserve the same as everyone else mentality and expect young men to give up anything. Right or wrong, selfish is selfish.

Leave a Reply

 
