Response to a despicable stumbler

At the 5,000 mark, I got a comment from a person named “Steve” who happened to stumble across this blog.  His comment was a stern one with a disgusted tone.  While I contemplated whether or not I should “approve” the comment, I accidentally pressed the “disapproved” button.  The comment disappeared.  I was annoyed at first until I realized the comment was also sent to me via email.  Now that I have a bit of time, I am going to “approve” the comment by publishing it and responding to it.

“I just stumbled on your blog. Almost every single post, I have noticed, is a diatribe against other people and they are almost always described in racial and physical stereotypes. It’s very sad that your own self-esteem is so low that you have to make yourself feel better by anonymously attacking perfect strangers. Would you say what you are writing to these peoples faces? Of course not. And yes, I would say what I am writing to your face because I find it fairly despicable.”

Dear Steve,

It’s amazing to me how some people like yourself just throw around the terms “racism” and “stereotype”.  Just because I describe someone as white or hispanic doesn’t make it a racist remark.  And when I describe someone’s physical appearance it doesn’t make them stereotypes.  Not every fat person is black, or vice versa.  I don’t make up my encounters and experiences.  I report them as they happen to me.  If a white guy who happened to be slovenly and smells like he hasn’t bathed in months is standing in front of me, I am going to write out as much detail as I can to describe the smelly slob.  If a fat woman who happened to be black decides to wedge her wide load between me and another passenger but ends up sitting on me, I am going to write it, and express my feeling of disgust and annoyance.

In the future, before you go labeling someone as a racist because they simply call out what is physically obvious about others, you should consider this – maybe you’re the one who is a racist and stereotypes.

Thank you for visiting and leaving your thoughtful comment.

Cordially,

The Daily Commuter

~ by thedailycommuter on Tuesday, November 18, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
