Passing the time on a bus, train, or plane

Most people pass the time on their way to work, home, or next destination while reading a magazine, newspaper, or book.  I am especially amused to see adults get engrossed in the latest Harry Potter novel.  I, too, have read on my commutes.  Sometimes I end up falling asleep.  And there are those who listen to their iPods or other types of portable music devices.  I own a iPod Shuffle 2nd generation (Nano?) – a wonderful gift from a very good friend and very pro-Apple.  I’m a PC girl but I must admit that my friend has made a semi-convert of me.  I also own a Macbook, which I love!  And an iPod Touch, which I love!  I watch videos on my iPT, play games, and at times, make entries to The Daily Commuter.  I also knit and used to get a bulk of my knitting down on the bus and train.  I have about an hour and half to kill!  Might as well, use it productively. 

Before there was the blogging and the internet, I jotted down perverted encounters while commuting by train, most notably on the “7” and “G” trains.  I don’t know if there are still sickos and perverts on those trains; I don’t ride them anymore.

When I attended college, I used to sketch the passengers.  It was a lot of fun and I miss it… a little.  I don’t do as much freehand sketching as I used.  I’m out of practice and a perfectionist when it comes to my artistic skills.  Every now and again, I will see  student sketching in his sketchbook of a passenger who has fallen asleep, or unaware.  Sometimes I’ll catch a glimpse of what and who they’ve sketched and it just brings me back to my college days.

Which brings me to a wonderful blog I happened upon, The Field Access.  He’s got some great sketches of commuters and passengers.  He’s got a good hand and I really enjoy looking at his artwork.  Not only that but I really like the fact that he draws on unconventional mediums.  It adds an urban layer or texture  to his artwork, which just adds to the story he is documenting.  You’ve got to check it out.

~ by thedailycommuter on Tuesday, December 23, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
