A snug fit

I am on the “F” train and lucky to be sitting on this crowded train. I honestly didn’t think I would get a seat when I looked in as the train pulled into the station.

When I boarded the train after a few people went in before me I saw a guy sitting with some space on either side of him and then a burly Hispanic guy got up thinking he had arrived at his stop. There was already a black woman with a robust figure standing there ready to sit down but the guy realized it was not his stop and sat back down. There was a small space between the Hispanic guy who didn’t know what stop he was at and a black guy who was sleeping. I decided to take the seat. Normally I wouldn’t bother but the space looked like I could fit and I knew the Hispanic guy would eventually get off, which would free up some space. I lowered myself and fit snuggly between the two men. I sat at the edge of the seat. I didn’t think there was any room for me to sit back. As the train jostled us around in it’s pace to get to the next stop, I slowly slid back into the seat until I was tucked behind the arm of each guy. I was amused by this situation. Under different circumstances I wouldn’t want to be seated and pinned back by two burly guys. Instead, my attitude was with gratitude.these two guys were propping me up and so when I slept for the rest of the ride, I wouldn’t be flopping around like an idiot. (You know what I’m talking about.)

~ by thedailycommuter on Thursday, February 26, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
