Is the MTA selling itself like a whore?

I’m sure you’re all aware that MTA has been doing a lot to sell advertising space on the subway, buses, and trains. I was about to pass thru a turnstile at Union Square when I noticed that the bars had advertisement for help to quit smoking. It was a row of three turnstiles and all three turnstiles had identical ads to quit smoking encased in acrylic for protection. I thought that was interesting how and what the MTA was offering for advertisement space but not a new idea.  There is a company called Entry Media that sells the sleeves that allows turnstiles to provide advertising space on the bars.

p1070208

p1070207

I was bemused upon see the ad across the bars moments before I pushed through and when I turned around to take a second look at it. And then I thought to myself, the ads got my attention. It actually made me slow down. And then I wondered what if the MTA implemented this at all turnstiles, would this cause a jam?  I along with other commuters, just swipe and go without so much of a glance to see what is our balance or if we swiped correctly. And then I thought if the MTA is putting ads on turnstile bars, where else are they going to allow for advertising.  Can you imagine the amount of ads plastered all over the stations and trains, and buses?  It would be worse than graffiti that they have cleaned up years ago!

I know times are tough and the MTA has been criticized especially with regards to fare hikes and cutting services but is selling itself off like a whore the way to go?  I mean, the MTA worked hard to clean it’s image and rid itself of eyesore graffiti.  Now commuters are going to be subjected to daily ads that may influence what they buy, eat, drink, and do.  It may be worse than receiving junk mail because at least with junk mail you can throw it away or delete it.  But you can’t avoid being blatantly smacked in the face with a motley of ads trying to get your attention, or become surrounded by repetitive ads selling a particular product.

I hope the people involved with advertising opportunities with the MTA play it smart, and do their best to keep the MTA trains, buses, and stations from over advertising.

~ by thedailycommuter on Sunday, April 19, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
