To travel or not to travel…

There has been quite a stir since the story broke out about the spread of swine flu from Mexico to the U.S. (especially in NYC – Queens to be specific) and abroad. The concerns with the spread of the disease has become an issue with regard to travel via airplane and subways. Pres. Obama has cautiously advised Americans and citizens to wash their hands and cough/sneeze into your elbow, which to me is common sense but as you may know common sense eludes some people.

I have had plenty of the commuting experience where people just lack the common sense to cover their mouth and face when you cough or sneeze. Once, I was on the train going to work in the morning. It was a crowded train and I was sleeping. Suddenly, this man standing directly in front of me let out a bonafide sneeze that sprayed projectile all over my face! To say the least I was disgusted! I felt like one of the people who became a victim of a monster or large animal with a lot of saliva and drool that just recently sneezed. Luckily, at the time, I had some tissue and sanitizer. The asshole continued to stand in front of me. I was too tired to tell him to fuck off. In retrospect, I should have made a scene and cursed him out.

And today, I read an article about one of Biden’s gaffes; read article here. I understand why they are reporting it as a gaffe but to be quite honest, I don’t blame him for making that statement. It’s his opinion and if he wants to advise his family members not to travel to Mexico or travel in subways, he should be able to without, or at the least, with little criticism. Air recycles in trains and planes so I totally understand where Biden is coming from. Heck, I get grossed out as we near winter and people are starting to get sick. Thse diseases are airborn and being in confined spaces where air is recycled is one way to contract germs, diseases, and bacteria.

Hands are another proponent of the spread of germs and bacteria. I hate shaking people’s hands. I don’t know where their fingers and hands have been in before our hands make contact. I see lots of people sticking it up their noses and digging around. Ugh! These are the same people who touch the poles and grab bars on the subways! I try to keep a mental note not to touch the same place of the nose picker when I see them in action.

Personally for me, until there is report of a definite spread of the swine flu with fatal results, I am going to continue to take the trains and buses to work or wherever I need to go. I’ll keep en eye to stay away from people who cough and sneeze. I don’t have any tentative travel plans that require me to fly.

And so far, deaths caused by the swine flu outside of Mexico have not been reported.

~ by thedailycommuter on Friday, May 1, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
