Commuter Etiquette #18

I tell you, people’s lack of common sense never ceases to amaze me. It’s a rainy day today and people have their umbrellas. The umbrellas are soaking wet when they board the bus and trains.

When I use an umbrella, I try to keep my wet umbrella from touching people, or getting them wet especially if they are seated. It’s rude and inconsiderate.

I was on the Q46 bus this morning and I was fortunate enough to get a seat on the bus. I was seated facing forward. The bus filled with more and more people coming out of the rain. A lady stood next to me with her dripping wet umbrella in front of her and smashed up against me. I could feel my sweater getting saturated. I pushed her umbrella away from me and wiping the wetness off my sweater. She was apologetic and tried to move her umbrella but it wasn’t enough. Her umbrella was still touching me. She eventually moved away but that meant another idiot stood beside me with her wet umbrella. I kept my eyes on her umbrella and eventually had to even push it away from me because she wasn’t doing a good job managing her wet umbrella.

It’s like theses people are so caught up with not getting themselves wet with their own umbrellas when they are in from the outside that they become oblivious how they are getting others wet.

Let’s be mindful of our belongings especially when they are dripping wet.

I’m adding this to the Commuter Etiquette list.

~ by thedailycommuter on Monday, May 4, 2009.

One Response to “Commuter Etiquette #18”

  1. Ugh, I hate this. Want to take the umbrella away and ram them in the arse with it. LOL. Ditto with various other projectiles carried by oblivious people in general such as in grocery lines, etc. And people splaying their leg up against me. Yak! Poor things, just oblivious…

Leave a Reply

 
