Sitting with Ms. Ants-in-Her-Pants

If you’ve never had the displeasure of being seated next to a person who just can’t sit still, let me tell you what you’re missing. They’re annoying! I don’t know if they’re doing it on purpose or they’re just itching to get off the train.

A woman sat down next to me who could not be still the second she plumped her butt down next to me. I was napping on the train but noticed when the body switched happen. Did I mention that she’s not small? She was rather keen on sitting her butt down.

You know how some people are when they’re excited to sit down on the bus or train. They basically throw themselves into the open seat without any consideration of the people sitting adjacent to the empty seat.

I could tell from the way her wide butt rubbed down my side that she was no delicate flower. She was one of those frumpy mid-age women who walk around thinking they’re not in the way of others.

As soon as she sat down next to me she immediately scrounged around in her bag. The rustling of her bag brought me out of my semi unconsciousness state. She “read” her magazine shifting every page with her arms and elbows. It was as if she was trying to push for more room. Her fidgeting even went down to her feet where she started to kick my heel. I opened my eyes, and see her kicking me. I turned to her and told her to stop kicking me while she was still kicking me. She tried to deny it and tried to turn it around and accuse me of kicking her. I told her again to stop kicking me and that I was not moving my foot. That shut her up but didn’t keep her from sitting still.

After she finished shifting through the Smithsonian magazine, she stuffed it back in her bag. Her whole body was itching to move but she continued to sit. Her head darted from one side to the other, and back again.

Finally, at Forest Hills she got up and got off the train.

~ by thedailycommuter on Tuesday, September 22, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
