Just take the seat and shut up

On the bus; I was sitting in the first two seaters. I was listening to my music and reading the NY Times on my iPhone. I was sitting along the aisle of the two seaters. A big and tall elderly man got on the bus and said something to me. I couldn’t hear him but given that he was pointing at the inner seat, I knew he wanted me to move in. I saw that he was a big and tall man plus he was carrying two large bags. I did not want to sit inside and have this man cram me in so I decided to just give him both seats. I got up and told him he can have the seat. He didn’t take it and continued to say something.

Someone else offered him a seat, which he took. I didn’t sit back down. Instead, I just stood until other seats became available.

That old dude was offended that I didn’t move in to let him sit down even though I offered him both seats. Why doesn’t he or other people understand that not everyone likes to sit in inside seat. And when someone offers to give up their seat, they should just take it graciously and shut the f*ck up!

~ by thedailycommuter on Sunday, December 13, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
