Witch’s knee

Every bus route their characters. They are typically unpleasant people either in appearance or personality. The bus I take in the mornings had a couple of characters. There is one in particular who I call ‘Witch’.

She’s white and middle aged. She’s got tight curly hair and dresses her hair in some form of product that makes her hair appear wet. I guess so as to control the fizz factor of her tight curly hair. Her wet tight curls drape her head down around her chin. She’s relatively tall and though she’s not necessarily big, she moves with a lumbering awkwardness. Everything about her physical being droops. Her posture, her boobs, and her face. There are bags under her eyes and at her cheeks. She makes an effort to put on makeup though it seems to only accentuate her bitter face. Her use of eyeliner draws attention to her dull eyes. The color she applies to her lips barely helps to make them less shriveled and gives her face a grimace.

I’ve dubbed her as the ‘Witch’ because I can imagine sticking one of those costume witch’s hat on her head and she’d look perfectly as a witch.

So I got on the bus and there weren’t seats available towards the front. I decided to stand at the corner where the single seats meet the tryptic seats. The witch was sitting at the end of the tryptic seats adjacent to the single seat. I was carrying a bag in my right hand and holding to the overhead bar with my left. My bag was not even touching her and yet she was concerned that my bag would knock into her knee. She pushed it back. She even tried to hold it back. Then she tried to put her bag in between her knee and my bag. She then bitched about my bag hitting her. I told her my bag wasn’t even touching her. If anything, she was the one touching my bag and I didn’t appreciate her that, I thought to myself. She continued to bitch that I could stand anywhere else on the bus. I responded that someone was going to stand where I was standing regardless.

I eventually got a seat; the single seat facing the witch. More people boarded the bus and other people stood around the ‘Witch’. These people stood closer to her knee than I did but she didn’t say anything to them. Instead, she have them the stink eye. The bus suddenly slammed on the brakes causing those who were standing to fall forward especially those standing closest to the ‘Witch’. Then she was seeking camaraderie about the bus driver’s driving skills from the same people she gave the stink eye for standing around her.

The ‘Witch’ reminds me of another annoying character who rides the same bus who I dubbed, ‘Roll-y poley’. She was roundish in shape. Always unpleasant. She always sat in the first seat of the tryptic bench next to the door. That seat is great for exiting the bus quickly. The downside is that your foot/feet gets stepped on. Her foot would get stepped on at least once. At times she would call the person out or make a public stink.

Anyways, I digress. The incident with the ‘Witch’ makes me wonder that if she is so concerned about her knee(s) then why not take a seat where her knees would not be exposed to potential injury?

~ by thedailycommuter on Sunday, January 19, 2014.

Leave a Reply

 
